Hiltz and Hurt Crowned USATF Road 1-Mile Champions at Grand Blue Mile

first_imgStory Links Hiltz and Hurt each earned $5,000 for the national title as part of $30,000 in total prize money awarded. The participants in the USATF Road 1-Mile Championship races were part of more than 4,000 runners who took part in the 10th Annual Grand Blue Mile.  Print Friendly Version Men’s Wellmark Blue Cross Blue Shield USATF Women’s 1-Mile Road Championship1. Tripp Hurt, 4:04.212. Brandon Lasater, 4:04.423. Nick Harris, 4:04.444. Jake Edwards, 4:04.845. Daniel Herrera, 4:05.146. David Elliot, 4:05.517. Mike Marsella, 4:05.618. Joe Coffey, 4:05.979. Kyle Medina, 4:07.0410. Julius Bor, 4:07.3212. Chad Noelle, 4:07.7512. Harun Abda, 4:07.8313. Jay Welp, 4:13.1314. Mikey Brannigan, 4:13.6715. Will Leer, 4:14.51 The men’s race featured a dramatic finish as Hurt sprinted on the outside to best the talented field to the tape to clip Brandon Lasater by just one two-tenths of a second. Complete Results Women’s Wellmark Blue Cross Blue Shield USATF Women’s 1-Mile Road Championship1. Nikki Hiltz, 4:30.092. Heather Kampf, 4:31.953. Hannah Fields, 4:32.614. Shannon Osika, 4:33.985. Anna Shields, 4:36.676. Rebecca Mehra, 4:38.767. Maddie Van Beek, 4:40.768. Alex Wilson, 4:41.069. Grace Barnett, 4:42.1110. Ashley Stinson, 4:43.3011. Savannah Camacho-Colon, 4:46.4612. Marisa Howard, 4:50.1513. Megan Rolland, 4:50.7014. Therese Haiss, 4:57.24 “My teammate, Nick [Harris, who finished third], was next to me and I was thinking we needed to battle and hope one of us got it,” Hurt said of the sprint to the finish. My goal was to stay patient and wait as long as I could to make a move to the front. It paid off.”  Will Leer led early in the race, trailed by a tight pack before Kyle Medina briefly took the lead at the three-minute mark as the leaders made the course’s first turn. Seconds later, as the still tightly bunched pack turned on to Grand Avenue, Daniel Herrera led out front until the pace quickened in the final 200 yards with Tripp moving to the outside of the pack to reach the finish line first. Hurt won the men’s race in 4:04.21 in a photo finish as the top-five finishers all finished within a second of each other. Hiltz took the lead of the women’s race off the final turn and held off three-time Grand Blue Mile champion Heather Kampf to set an event record in 4:30.09. Hanna Fields was also in the lead pack of the race as she and Hiltz took over the lead from Kampf midway through the race. DES MOINES, Iowa – Nikki Hiltz and Tripp Hurt raced to the USATF Road 1-Mile National Championship Tuesday evening on the streets of Des Moines as part of the 10th Wellmark Blue Cross and Blue Shield Grand Blue Mile. “It’s not just a road race, it’s the USA Road Mile Championship and it’s my first national championship win,” Hiltz said. “It was awesome and the field definitely gave me a run for my money. We got after it and I knew in the last straightaway we’d switch into a new gear. No one made it easy.”last_img

Leave a Comment


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *